Bestseller

Basquiat

Catalogue to the 2010 exhibition

Quantity  In stock
Price CHF 68.–
Art Club price (10%) CHF 61.20
Language
Item # 18677
Add to cart

Description

Basquiat. Short, sharp, stunning

The American painter and draftsman Jean-Michel Basquiat (1960–1988) numbers among the most fascinating and controversial figures of recent art history. His friendships with Andy Warhol, Keith Haring and Madonna are legendary and left their direct traces in his art.

The catalogue stages a retrospective of Basquiat’s extraordinary progression from nobody to star. It also looks in depth at the art-historical significance of the artist, who tragically died at the age of only 27. Basquiat’s works are suffused with the same energy and intensity that marked his short life.

Basquiat’s large-format, vibrantly colorful works are reproduced in the catalogue in high-quality illustrations. These are complemented by a generous selection of black-and-white photographs offering snapshots of the artist’s life. These not only narrate a visual biography but deliver fascinating and unexpected insights into the art and music scene in 1980s New York.

Essays by curator Dieter Buchhart and authors Glenn O’Brien, Jean-Louis Prat, and Susanne Reichling shed light on various aspects of Basquiat’s activities and personality. O’Brien, for example, asks the question: “Who was this man in the mask?”, while the artist himself makes some extremely revealing statements in an interview with Becky Johnston and Tamra Davis.

Product info

Details The catalogue comprises 244 pages with 334 full-color illustrations
Edition Softback
Language English or German

Meilleures ventes

Basquiat

Catalogue de l’exposition de 2010

Quantité  En stock
Prix CHF 68.–
Prix Art Club (10%) CHF 61.20
Langue
Numéro d'article 18677
Ajouter au panier

Description

Basquiat. Court, rapide, renversant

Le peintre et dessinateur Jean-Michel Basquiat (1960-1988) a été l’une des personnalités les plus scintillantes de l’histoire de l’art contemporain. Son amitié pour Andy Warhol, Keith Haring, Klaus Nomi et Madonna a joué un rôle marquant dans son œuvre, tout en le parant d’une aura légendaire. Ce furent, sans nul doute, des relations explosives dans une ville — New York — alors en pleine floraison.

Ce catalogue en forme de rétrospective retrace l’évolution artistique unique qui a fait d’un « nobody » une vedette des milieux artistiques. Il étudie également de manière approfondie l’importance pour l’histoire de l’art de cet artiste tragiquement disparu à 27 ans. On retrouve dans ses œuvres l’intensité et l’énergie qui ont également marqué sa brève existence.

Les œuvres très colorées et de grand format font l’objet de reproduction d’une excellente qualité. En guise de contrepoint, ce catalogue contient également de nombreuses photographies en noir et blanc de la vie de l’artiste. Ces précieux documents historiques offrent des aperçus passionnants et surprenants de la scène artistique et musicale du New York des années 1980.

Les textes du commissaire d’exposition Dieter Buchhart, de Glenn O'Brien, de Jean-Louis Prat et de Susanne Reichling éclairent différents aspects de sa création et de sa personnalité. Évoquons ainsi la question d’O’Brien « Qui était cet homme au masque » ou les réponses très instructives de l’artiste lui-même lors d’une interview réalisée par Becky Johnston et Tamra Davis.

Fiches produits

Details Ce catalogue comprend 244 pages avec 334 reproductions en couleurs
Langue en allemand ou anglais