Henri Rousseau

Catalogue to the 2010 exhibition

Quantity  In stock
Price CHF 64.–
Art Club price (10%) CHF 57.60
Language
Item # 18277
Add to cart

Description

Henri Rousseau. Naïf or genius?

It was with his work of Henri Rousseau, according to the Surrealist André Breton, that one could speak for the first time of “Magic Realism”. Henri Rousseau is considered a forerunner of Surrealism. In his own lifetime, he struggled to win recognition for his painting, which was often described as naive. He was frequently the target of scorn and derision. For many of his contemporaries, his avant-gardist vision of the world, closer to dream than reality, was too far removed from pictorial and visual conventions. But Henri Rousseau has long since found his rightful place in art history.

The Henri Rousseau exhibition at the Fondation Beyeler in 2010 celebrated the centenary of the artist’s death. The accompanying catalogue, with essays by Philippe Büttner, Christopher Green, Franz Hohler and Daniel Kramer, presents some 40 of Rousseau’s major works and hence provides a comprehensive overview of the artist’s oeuvre.

The focus thereby falls upon Rousseau’s fascination with the contrast between the domesticated Western world and untamed nature. His paintings are bathed in a poetic, dreamy and distant atmosphere. This “magic realism” is precisely what brings Rousseau’s art so vividly to life for the viewer.

Unprecedented juxtapositions of works show Rousseau in an entirely fresh light and enable us to move beyond the cliché of le grand naïf and discover a unique artist who opened up entirely new pathways for modern art.

The catalogue is rounded off by a comprehensive biography of Henri Rousseau’s life and work.

Product info

Details The catalogue comprises approx. 120 pages with approx. 80 full-color illustrations
Edition Hardback
Language English or German

Henri Rousseau

Catalogue de l’exposition de 2010

Quantité  En stock
Prix CHF 64.–
Prix Art Club (10%) CHF 57.60
Langue
Numéro d'article 18277
Ajouter au panier

Description

Henri Rousseau. Naïf ou génial?

Le surréaliste André Breton disait d’Henri Rousseau que son œuvre était la toute première à qui l’on pût appliquer l’expression de « réalisme magique ». Henri Rousseau passe pour un précurseur du surréalisme. De son vivant, il eut du mal à imposer sa peinture, également présentée comme naïve, et fut fréquemment en butte aux moqueries et au mépris. Cela ne l’a pas empêché de trouver depuis sa place dans l’histoire de l’art. Sa vision du monde avant-gardiste, onirique, était sans doute beaucoup trop éloignée des habitudes visuelles de son temps pour plaire à ses contemporains.

Le catalogue de l’exposition « Henri Rousseau » a été publié à l’occasion du centième anniversaire de la mort de cet artiste. Cette monographie, qui contient des articles de Philippe Büttner, Christopher Green, Franz Hohler et Daniel Kramer et présente une quarantaine d’œuvres majeures de l’artiste, offre un vaste aperçu de sa création.

Celle-ci a pour cœur la fascination de Rousseau pour l’opposition entre le monde occidental dompté et la nature vierge. Il émane de ses représentations une impression poétique, rêveuse, détachée du monde. C’est précisément ce réalisme magique qui permet au spectateur d’éprouver une proximité exceptionnelle avec son œuvre.

Des juxtapositions d’œuvres inédites présentent Rousseau sous un jour inédit et permettent, au-delà du cliché du « grand naïf », de découvrir un artiste absolument vraiment unique dont la création a ouvert des possibilités absolument toutes nouvelles à l’art moderne. Une biographie détaillée retrace l’évolution d’Henri Rousseau.

Fiches produits

Details Ce catalogue comprend env. 120 pages avec env. 80 illustrations en couleurs
Langue allemand ou anglais