Exclusive

ANSICHTEN Nr. 07
Ellsworth Kelly

Availability In stock
Price CHF 15.00
Art Club price (10%) CHF 13.50
Item # 14404
Add to cart

Description

Hard edges? Hard-edge!

Ellsworth Kelly is one of the most significant and yet idiosyncratic representatives of American art after 1945, and one of the most important exponents of hard-edge painting. His works employ a very striking visual language. Their sharp-edged, monochrome forms float in front of the walls as sculptural bodies, changing their appearance according the angle they are viewed from. They taper to a point or seem to subtly stretch or swell, depending on their color. The wall thereby assumes the role of pictorial ground, of complementary form and intervening space. The hanging of the paintings recruits the wall as an accomplice, activating it and making it part of Ellsworth Kelly’s art. 

Since the 1950s Ellsworth Kelly has also worked intensively in sculpture. His White Curves (2001) was installed in the grounds of the Fondation Beyeler in 2002. With its single fold, the aluminum sculpture stands like a billowing sail in front of a magnificent group of mature trees. Its crisp silhouette cuts out a hole in nature, only to fill the gap with a different view of the gardens, now seen as a reflection upon the sculpture’s smooth white surface. Walking around White Curves, the viewer is astonished and inspired by its many different faces. The present volume is an ideal companion to a visit to the museum followed by a stroll through the park.

ANSICHTEN no. 7 takes an in-depth look at the artistic oeuvre of Ellsworth Kelly. Detailed descriptions, technical data, special features, background information, and questions of interpretation all fall within the scope of this booklet.The ANSICHTEN (‘VIEWS’) series has been created for art lovers and teachers. Packed with insights, the series allows you to explore the works in the Fondation Beyeler in greater depth. Each ANSICHTEN volume also contains a section specifically designed for art educators. This part of the book suggests ideas for practical exercises and experiments that can be performed in the museum, in the classroom or at home.The ANSICHTEN series published by the Fondation Beyeler is an enjoyable and entertaining way of deepening your knowledge of a work of art.

Product info

Details The booklet comprises 24 pages and contains numerous full-color illustrations
Language Only available in German

Exklusiv

ANSICHTEN Nr. 07
Ellsworth Kelly

Verfügbarkeit An Lager
Preis CHF 15.00
Preis Art Club (10%) CHF 13.50
Artikel-Nummer 14404
In den Warenkorb

Beschreibung

Hard-edge? Hard-edge!

Ellsworth Kelly zählt zu den wichtigsten und zugleich eigenwilligsten Vertretern der amerikanischen Kunst nach 1945. Seine Werke werden durch eine sehr markante Bildsprache bestimmt. Er ist einer der bedeutendsten Vertreter des Hard Edge. Die scharf geschnittenen, monochromen Farbformen schweben als skulpturale Bildkörper über der Wand und verändern je nach Position des Betrachters ihr Aussehen. Sie spitzen sich zu oder scheinen sich - je nach Farbe - subtil zu dehnen und zu wölben. Die Wand übernimmt dabei zugleich die Rolle vom Bildgrund, von Gegenform und Zwischenraum. Die Hängung der Werke macht die Wand zum Komplizen der Kunst, sie wird aktiviert und zum Teil der Kunst.

White Curves (2001) ist eine weisse Faltskulptur, die im Jahre 2002 im Park der Fondation Beyeler errichtet worden ist. Sie steht wie ein blendendes Segel vor einer prachtvollen Baumgruppe. Ihr kantiges Wesen schneidet ein Stück Natur aus, um gleichzeitig ein anderes Bild des Parks als Spiegelbild auf der glatten, weissen Oberfläche wieder aufzunehmen. Die verschiedenen Ansichten dieser Skulptur sind inspirierend und überraschend zugleich. Das vorliegende Heft ist ein idealer Begleiter für einen Museumsbesuch mit anschliessendem Rundgang durch den Park.

 ANSICHTEN NR. 7 enthält profundes Wissen über das künstlerische Schaffen von Ellsworth Kelly. Besonderheiten, Wissenswertes, Merkwürdiges, Unerforschtes, und die Frage der Deutung sind die Themen in diesem Heft. Die Publikationsreihe ANSICHTEN ist für Kunstinteressierte und Unterrichtende geschaffen worden, die eine vertiefte Auseinandersetzung mit Werken der Fondation Beyeler suchen. Das Heft enthält einen zweiten pädagogischen Teil. Hier werden Ideen, Aufgaben und Experimente präsentiert, die in der Museumssituation, im Schulzimmer oder zuhause durchgespielt werden können. Die Heftreihe ANSICHTEN der Fondation Beyeler bietet sich an, um spielerisch vertieftes Wissen über ein Kunstwerk zu gewinnen.

Produktinfos

Details Das Heft umfasst 24 Seiten und enthält zahlreiche Abbildungen in Farbe
Sprache Nur auf Deutsch erhältlich