Exclusive

ANSICHTEN Nr. 08
Edgar Degas

Availability In stock
Price CHF 15.00
Art Club price (10%) CHF 13.50
Item # 15491
Add to cart

Description

A revolutionary in pastels

The pastels of Edgar Degas are characterized by an intoxicating interplay of drawing, light and color. With Breakfast after the Bath (c. 1895–98) and Three Dancers (c. 1903) the Fondation Beyeler owns two masterly pastels from Edgar Degas’ late work. Degas explored the movement of the human body and its representation in a wide variety of media over many decades. Ballet dancers, horses and jockeys, Parisian night life, and women at their toilette are among the quintessential themes of his oeuvre.

Degas saw and portrayed the female body in an entirely new way. A revolutionary in his use of color, Degas remained traditional in his draughtsmanship. His clearly drawn outlines directly contradict the principles of his Impressionist colleagues, to whose ranks he is nonetheless often assigned. Edgar Degas occupies an isolated and highly individual position within the sphere of his artist contemporaries. This is precisely what makes him so interesting.

ANSICHTEN no. 8 takes an in-depth look at the artistic oeuvre of Edgar Degas. Detailed descriptions, technical data, special features, background information, and questions of interpretation all fall within the scope of this booklet.

The ANSICHTEN (‘VIEWS’) series has been created for art lovers and teachers. Packed with insights, the series allows you to explore the works in the Fondation Beyeler in greater depth. 

Each ANSICHTEN volume also contains a section specifically designed for art educators. This part of the book suggests ideas for practical exercises and experiments that can be performed in the museum, in the classroom or at home.

The ANSICHTEN series published by the Fondation Beyeler is an enjoyable and entertaining way of deepening your knowledge of a work of art.

Product info

Details The booklet comprises 24 pages and contains numerous full-color illustrations
Language Only available in German

Exklusiv

ANSICHTEN Nr. 08
Edgar Degas

Verfügbarkeit An Lager
Preis CHF 15.00
Preis Art Club (10%) CHF 13.50
Artikel-Nummer 15491
In den Warenkorb

Beschreibung

Der Revolutionär im Pastell

Die Pastelle von Edgar Degas begeistern durch ein aussergewöhnliches Farbspiel auf Papier. Mit Das Frühstück nach dem Bad (um 1895-98) und Drei Tänzerinnen (um 1903) ist die Fondation Beyeler im Besitz von zwei Pastellen von Edgar Degas. Über Jahrzehnte hat sich Degas intensiv mit dem Thema der Bewegung des menschlichen Körpers und dessen Darstellung in der Kunst auseinandergesetzt. Seine Bildthemen waren das Ballett, Jockeys und Pferde, das Pariser Nachtleben und Frauen bei der Körperpflege.

Vor Degas ist der weibliche Körper noch nie so gesehen, noch nie so gemalt worden. Was die Zeichnung anbelangt, ist Degas noch ganz dem traditionellen Stil verbunden, in seinem Farbauftrag hingegen wird er zum Revolutionär. Ein berauschendes Spiel von Zeichnung, Licht und Farbe. Die exakte Linienführung in den Werken Degas steht in grossem Widerspruch zu den Regeln der Impressionisten, zu denen er gerne gezählt wird. Der Maler und Bildhauer Edgar Degas nimmt eine exponierte, sehr eigenwillige Position im Umfeld seiner zeitgenössischen Wegbegleiter ein. Genau das macht ihn so interessant.

ANSICHTEN NR. 8 enthält profundes Wissen über das künstlerische Schaffen von Edgar Degas. Besonderheiten, Wissenswertes, Merkwürdiges, Unerforschtes, und die Frage der Deutung sind die Themen in diesem Heft.

Die Publikationsreihe ANSICHTEN ist für Kunstinteressierte und Unterrichtende geschaffen worden, die eine vertiefte Auseinandersetzung mit Werken der Fondation Beyeler suchen.

Das Heft enthält einen zweiten pädagogischen Teil. Hier werden Ideen, Aufgaben und Experimente präsentiert, die in der Museumssituation, im Schulzimmer oder zuhause durchgespielt werden können.

Die Heftreihe ANSICHTEN der Fondation Beyeler bietet sich an, um spielerisch vertieftes Wissen über ein Kunstwerk zu gewinnen.

Produktinfos

Details Das Heft umfasst 24 Seiten und enthält zahlreiche Abbildungen in Farbe
Sprache Nur auf Deutsch erhältlich