Herbert Matter
Alexander Calder, 2012

Art Edition

Availability In stock
Price CHF 2'950.00
Item # 22041
Add to cart

Description

the Work of Calder by Mater

Herbert Matter (1907-1984) was a Swiss-American graphic designer and photographer.

Matter met Alexander Calder as he was photographing his work for the Pierre Matisse gallery in New York. As from this moment, grew a very close friendship between the two artists. Matter was asked to direct the 1944 MoMA film, “Alexander Calder: Sculpture and Constructions” and the 1950 MoMA film “Works of Calder”.

Those six gelatin silver photographs capture Calder at work in his studio and in his home in Connecticut. They translate Matter's admiration for Calder's works and offer a fascinating angle to his art.

 

This collector’s edition from Cahiers d'Art contains a copy of Calder by Matter in a special black binding and a portfolio of six stamped and numbered gelatin silver photographs by Herbert Matter. It is signed by Alexander Matter, the son of the photographer, and Alexander S. C. Rower, the grandson of the artist, and is presented in a handmade aluminium box.

Edited by Alexander S. C. Rower.

Texts by Jed Perl and John Hill.

Additional links

Technique: Photograph

More products on the topic

Photograph Herbert Matter

Product info

Edition 250
Detail Portfolio of six photographs
Size 38 x 38 cm each
Medium Gelatin silver prints
Authenticity Each photograph is numbered and signed

If you have any questions about our editions, please contact:

editions@fondationbeyeler.ch
Tel: +41 61 645 97 38 (Mon–Fri, 9–12h and 14–17h)

DOWNLOAD OUR EDITIONS BOOKLET

PERSONAL VISUALIZATION OF ART EDITIONS

Herbert Matter
Alexander Calder, 2012

Art Edition

Verfügbarkeit An Lager
Preis CHF 2'950.00
Artikel-Nummer 22041
In den Warenkorb

Beschreibung

The work of Calder by Matter

Herbert Matter (1907-1984) war ein schweizerisch-amerikanischer Grafikdesigner und Fotograf.

Matter lernte Alexander Calder kennen, als er dessen Werke für die Galerie Pierre Matisse in New York fotografierte. Von diesem Moment an entwickelte sich eine sehr enge Freundschaft zwischen den beiden Künstlern. Matter wurde 1944 gebeten, die Regie für den MoMA-Film «Alexander Calder: Sculpture and Constructions» und 1950 für einen weiteren MoMA-Film, «Works of Calder», zu übernehmen.

Diese sechs Gelatinesilber-Fotografien zeigen Calder bei der Arbeit in seinem Atelier und in seinem Haus in Connecticut. Sie bringen Matters Bewunderung für Calders Werke zum Ausdruck und bieten einen faszinierenden Blickwinkel auf seine Kunst.

Diese Sammlerausgabe von Cahiers d'Art enthält ein Exemplar von Calder by Matter in einem speziellen schwarzen Einband und eine Mappe mit sechs gestempelten und nummerierten Gelatinesilberfotografien von Herbert Matter. Sie ist von Alexander Matter, dem Sohn des Fotografen, und Alexander S. C. Rower, dem Enkel des Künstlers, signiert und wird in einer handgefertigten Aluminiumbox präsentiert.

Jede Aufnahme ist nummeriert und signiert

Herausgegeben von Alexander S. C. Rower.
Texte von Jed Perl und John Hill.

Weiterführende Links

Technik: Fotografie

Mehr Produkte zum Thema

Fotografie Herbert Matter

Produktinfos

Edition 250
Detail Portfolio von 6 Fotografien
Masse 38 x 38 cm, je Aufnahme
Technik Gelatinesilber-Fotografien

Kontakt für Fragen zu Editionen:

editions@fondationbeyeler.ch
Tel: +41 61 645 97 38 (Mo–Fr, 9–12h und 14–17h)

UNSER EDITIONEN-BOOKLET ALS DOWNLOAD

PERSÖNLICHE VISUALISIERUNG VON ART EDITIONEN