Exclusive

Jenny Holzer
Mini LED, Text Date: 1996

Accumulation of text fragments

Availability In stock
Price CHF 7'500.00
Item # 18217
Add to cart

Description

Accumulation of text fragments

Inflammatory Essays (1979–1982)
Influenced by Holzer’s readings of political, art, religious, utopian, and other manifestos, the Inflammatory Essays are a collection of 100-word texts that were printed on colored paper and posted throughout New York City. Like any manifesto, the voice in each essay urges and es- pouses a strong and particular ideology. By masking the author of the essays, Holzer allows the viewer to assess ideologies divorced from the personalities that propel them. With this series, Holzer invites the reader to consider the urgent necessity of social change, the possibility for manipulation of the public, and the conditions that attend revolution.


Living (1980–1982)
In the Living series, Holzer presents a set of quiet observations, directions, and warnings. Unlike the Inflammatory Essays, the Living texts are written in a matter of fact, journalistic style, suitable for descriptions of everyday life. The commentaries touch on how the individual and his or her body negotiates landscapes, persons, rules, expectations, desires, fears, other bodies, one’s flesh, and one’s self. The Living writing appeared on cast bronze plaques, of the sort that often appear on historical buildings, to lend the writing authority. The writings were also incorporated into hand-painted signs.


Laments (1989)
Written during the bleakest insurgence of the AIDS epidemic, the Laments chronicle unnecessary death in the first-person voices of the unknown and unnamed who suffer. Written from the viewpoints of women, men, children, and an infant, the Lamentswere first shown at the Dia Art Foundation on thirteen stone sarcophagi and in thirteen vertical synchronized LED signs.


Arno (1996)
Begun as an account of losing someone to AIDS, Arno, more expansively, treats living with the death of one who was loved. A version of the text made its debut in a music video for Red, Hot and Dance, an AIDS fundraiser. The writing was completed, and made general, so as to treat anyone’s loss after a great and terrible love. Arno next was presented to the public as a light projection on the Arno River in Florence, Italy, in 1996. This projection on the Arno was Holzer’s first, and this medium has been crucial to Holzer’s practice since.

More products on the topic

Object Jenny Holzer

Product info

Edition 100
Electronic Mini LED
Panel with anodized aluminum housing red, green and yellow diodes, incl. power adapter
Size 13 × 10.2 × 4 cm (each)
Various titles in English from the year 1996
Certificate numbered and signed (on the back)

If you have any questions about our editions, please contact:

editions@fondationbeyeler.ch
Tel: +41 61 645 97 38 (Mon–Fri, 9–12h and 14–17h)

ORDER FOR FREE OUR EDITIONS BOOKLET.

PERSONAL VISUALIZATION OF ART EDITIONS

Exklusiv

Jenny Holzer
Mini LED, Text Date: 1996

Ansammlung von Textfragmenten

Verfügbarkeit An Lager
Preis CHF 7'500.00
Artikel-Nummer 18217
In den Warenkorb

Beschreibung

Ansammlung von Textfragmenten

Brandgefährliche Essays (1979-1982)
Beeinflusst von Holzer's Lesarten politischer, künstlerischer, religiöser, utopischer und anderer Manifeste, sind die Entzündungsaufsätze eine Sammlung von Texten mit 100 Wörtern, die auf farbiges Papier gedruckt und in ganz New York City verschickt wurden. Wie in jedem Manifest drängt und drängt die Stimme in jedem Essay zu einer starken und besonderen Ideologie. Indem Holzer den Autor der Essays maskiert, erlaubt er dem Betrachter, Ideologien zu beurteilen, die von den sie antreibenden Persönlichkeiten getrennt sind. Mit dieser Reihe lädt Holzer den Leser ein, über die dringende Notwendigkeit eines sozialen Wandels, die Möglichkeit der Manipulation der Öffentlichkeit und die Bedingungen einer Revolution nachzudenken.

Leben (1980-1982)
In der Reihe Living präsentiert Holzer eine Reihe stiller Beobachtungen, Hinweise und Warnungen. Im Gegensatz zu den entzündlichen Essays sind die Lebendigen Texte in einem sachlich-journalistischen Stil geschrieben, der für die Beschreibung des Alltagslebens geeignet ist. Die Kommentare berühren, wie das Individuum und sein Körper mit Landschaften, Personen, Regeln, Erwartungen, Wünschen, Ängsten, anderen Körpern, dem eigenen Fleisch und sich selbst umgeht. Die Lebendige Schrift erschien auf gegossenen Bronzetafeln, wie sie oft an historischen Gebäuden zu finden sind, um der Schrift Autorität zu verleihen. Die Schriften wurden auch in handgemalte Schilder eingearbeitet.


Klagelieder (1989)

Die während des schlimmsten Aufstands der AIDS-Epidemie verfassten Klagen berichten von unnötigen Todesfällen in der Ich-Form der unbekannten und namenlosen Leidenden. Aus der Sicht von Frauen, Männern, Kindern und einem Säugling geschrieben, wurden die Laments erstmals in der Dia Art Foundation auf dreizehn Steinsarkophagen und in dreizehn vertikal synchronisierten LED-Zeichen gezeigt.


Arno (1996)

Angefangen als ein Bericht über den Verlust eines Menschen durch Aids, behandelt Arno, etwas ausführlicher, das Leben mit dem Tod eines geliebten Menschen. Eine Version des Textes wurde erstmals in einem Musikvideo für Red, Hot and Dance, einer AIDS-Spendenaktion, veröffentlicht. Der Text wurde fertiggestellt und verallgemeinert, um den Verlust eines Menschen nach einer großen und schrecklichen Liebe zu behandeln. Arno next wurde 1996 der Öffentlichkeit als Lichtprojektion auf den Arno in Florenz, Italien, vorgestellt. Diese Projektion auf den Arno war die erste von Holzer, und dieses Medium ist seither für seine Praxis von entscheidender Bedeutung.

Mehr Produkte zum Thema

Objekt Jenny Holzer

Produktinfos

Auflage 100
Elektronik Mini-LED
Panel mit eloxiertem Aluminiumgehäuse rote, grüne und gelbe Dioden, inkl. Netzteil
Grösse je 13 × 10,2 × 4 cm
Verschiedene Titel auf Englisch aus dem Jahr 1996
Zertifikat nummeriert und unterzeichnet (auf der Rückseite)

Kontakt für Fragen zu Editionen:

editions@fondationbeyeler.ch
Tel: +41 61 645 97 38 (Mo–Fr, 9–12h und 14–17h)

BESTELLEN SIE KOSTENLOS UNSER EDITIONEN-BOOKLET.