Exclusive

Jenny Holzer
Mini LED, Text Date: 1996

Accumulation of text fragments

Availability In stock
Price CHF 7'500.00
Item # 18217
Add to cart

Description

Accumulation of text fragments

Inflammatory Essays (1979–1982)
Influenced by Holzer’s readings of political, art, religious, utopian, and other manifestos, the Inflammatory Essays are a collection of 100-word texts that were printed on colored paper and posted throughout New York City. Like any manifesto, the voice in each essay urges and es- pouses a strong and particular ideology. By masking the author of the essays, Holzer allows the viewer to assess ideologies divorced from the personalities that propel them. With this series, Holzer invites the reader to consider the urgent necessity of social change, the possibility for manipulation of the public, and the conditions that attend revolution.


Living (1980–1982)
In the Living series, Holzer presents a set of quiet observations, directions, and warnings. Unlike the Inflammatory Essays, the Living texts are written in a matter of fact, journalistic style, suitable for descriptions of everyday life. The commentaries touch on how the individual and his or her body negotiates landscapes, persons, rules, expectations, desires, fears, other bodies, one’s flesh, and one’s self. The Living writing appeared on cast bronze plaques, of the sort that often appear on historical buildings, to lend the writing authority. The writings were also incorporated into hand-painted signs.


Laments (1989)
Written during the bleakest insurgence of the AIDS epidemic, the Laments chronicle unnecessary death in the first-person voices of the unknown and unnamed who suffer. Written from the viewpoints of women, men, children, and an infant, the Lamentswere first shown at the Dia Art Foundation on thirteen stone sarcophagi and in thirteen vertical synchronized LED signs.


Arno (1996)
Begun as an account of losing someone to AIDS, Arno, more expansively, treats living with the death of one who was loved. A version of the text made its debut in a music video for Red, Hot and Dance, an AIDS fundraiser. The writing was completed, and made general, so as to treat anyone’s loss after a great and terrible love. Arno next was presented to the public as a light projection on the Arno River in Florence, Italy, in 1996. This projection on the Arno was Holzer’s first, and this medium has been crucial to Holzer’s practice since.

More products on the topic

Object Jenny Holzer

Product info

Edition 100
Electronic Mini LED
Panel with anodized aluminum housing red, green and yellow diodes, incl. power adapter
Size 13 × 10.2 × 4 cm (each)
Various titles in English from the year 1996
Certificate numbered and signed (on the back)

If you have any questions about our editions, please contact:

editions@fondationbeyeler.ch
Tel: +41 61 645 97 38 (Mon–Fri, 9–12h and 14–17h)

ORDER FOR FREE OUR EDITIONS BOOKLET.

PERSONAL VISUALIZATION OF ART EDITIONS

Exclusif

Jenny Holzer
Mini LED, Text Date: 1996

Accumulation de fragments de texte

Disponibilité En stock
Prix CHF 7'500.00
Numéro d'article 18217
Ajouter au panier

Description

Accumulation de fragments de texte

Essais inflammatoires (1979-1982)
Influencés par les lectures de Holzer des manifestes politiques, artistiques, religieux, utopiques et autres, les Essais inflammatoires sont une collection de textes de 100 mots qui ont été imprimés sur du papier de couleur et affichés dans tout New York. Comme tout manifeste, la voix de chaque essai incite et stimule une idéologie forte et particulière. En masquant l'auteur des essais, Holzer permet au spectateur d'évaluer des idéologies séparées des personnalités qui les propulsent. Avec cette série, Holzer invite le lecteur à considérer la nécessité urgente d'un changement social, la possibilité de manipulation du public et les conditions qui accompagnent la révolution.


Vivre (1980-1982)

Dans la série Living, Holzer présente un ensemble d'observations, de directions et d'avertissements silencieux. Contrairement aux Essais inflammatoires, les textes de Living sont rédigés dans un style journalistique, adapté aux descriptions de la vie quotidienne. Les commentaires portent sur la façon dont l'individu et son corps négocient les paysages, les personnes, les règles, les attentes, les désirs, les peurs, les autres corps, la chair et soi-même. L'écriture vivante apparaît sur des plaques de bronze coulées, du type de celles qui figurent souvent sur les bâtiments historiques, pour donner à l'écriture une autorité. Les écritures ont également été incorporées dans des signes peints à la main.


Lamentations (1989)

Écrit pendant la plus sombre insurrection de l'épidémie de sida, les Lamentations font la chronique de la mort inutile à la première personne de l'inconnu et de l'anonyme qui souffre. Écrites du point de vue de femmes, d'hommes, d'enfants et d'un nourrisson, les Lamentations ont été présentées pour la première fois à la Dia Art Foundation sur treize sarcophages de pierre et dans treize panneaux LED verticaux synchronisés.


Arno (1996)

Commencé comme un récit de la perte d'un être cher à cause du SIDA, Arno, de manière plus large, traite de la vie avec la mort d'un être cher. Une version du texte a fait ses débuts dans un vidéoclip pour Red, Hot and Dance, une collecte de fonds pour le sida. L'écriture a été complétée, et rendue générale, afin de traiter la perte de quiconque après un grand et terrible amour. Arno a ensuite été présenté au public sous la forme d'une projection lumineuse sur le fleuve Arno à Florence, en Italie, en 1996. Cette projection sur l'Arno était la première de Holzer, et ce médium a été crucial pour la pratique de Holzer depuis.

Liens supplémentaires

Technique: Objet Artiste: Jenny Holzer

Plus de produits sur le sujet

Objet Jenny Holzer

Fiches produits

Edition 100
Electronique Mini LED
Panneau avec boîtier en aluminium anodisé diodes rouges, vertes et jaunes, adaptateur électrique inclus
Taille 13 × 10,2 × 4 cm (chacun)
Divers titres en anglais à partir de l'année 1996
Certificat numéroté et signé (au verso)

Contact pour toute question relative aux éditions:

editions@fondationbeyeler.ch
Tél: +41 61 645 97 38 (Lun–Ven, 9–12h et 14–17h)

COMMANDEZ GRATUITEMENT LE LIVRET ÉDITIONS.