SUN, 26.01. –
SUN, 17.05.
10h – 18h

Exhibition

EDWARD HOPPER

Edward Hopper (1882–1967) is widely acknowledged as one of America’s most important painters. A large selection of his world-famous works, usually only on view in the US, will be presented at the Fondation Beyeler. The more than 60 paintings and watercolors on loan from museums and private collections feature iconic masterpieces as well as magnificent surprises

Adults CHF 25.00
IV-Pensioners (with valid ID)* CHF 20.00
Students under 30* CHF 12.00
Groups of 20 or more* CHF 20.00
Up to age 25* CHF 0.00
Add to cart Information about reductions

This will be the first time an exhibition focuses on Hopper’s fascinating landscapes, in which he explored the relation between man and nature. While natural landscapes found themselves increasingly encroached upon by the traces of modern civilization, new types of landscapes were coming into existence in cities. Hopper’s favorite motifs include lighthouses, beach houses and sailboats, as well as streets, gas stations, barns and railroads.

A further highlight of the exhibition will be the screening of a short film by renowned director and photographer Wim Wenders. Inspired by Edward Hopper’s “American spirit”, the film will be shown in spectacular 3D projection.

Organized by the Fondation Beyeler in cooperation with the Whitney Museum of American Art, New York, the major repository of Hopper’s work.

Credit: "Cape Cod Morning", 1950, Oil on canvas 86.7 x 102.3 cm, Smithsonian American Art Museum, Gift of the Sara Roby Foundation, © Heirs of Josephine Hopper / 2019, ProLitteris, Zurich Photo: Smithsonian American Art Museum, Gene Young

Location

FONDATION BEYELER
Baselstrasse 101
CH-4125 Riehen/Basel

DI, 26.01. –
DI, 17.05.
10h – 18h

Exposition

EDWARD HOPPER

Edward Hopper (1882–1967) compte parmi les plus grands peintres américains. Un nombre important de ses toiles, célèbres dans le monde entier mais habituellement exposées aux États-Unis, seront bientôt présentées à la Fondation Beyeler. Parmi les plus de 60 peintures et aquarelles en provenance de musées et de collections privées figurent des chefs-d’œuvre emblématiques tout comme des découvertes exceptionnelles.

Adultes CHF 25.00
Bénéficiaires d'une rente AI* CHF 20.00
Étudiants de moins de 30 ans* CHF 12.00
Groupes de 20 personnes et +* CHF 20.00
Moins de 26 ans* CHF 0.00
Ajouter au panier Informations sur les réductions

Ce sera la première fois qu’une exposition mettra l’accent sur les paysages fascinants réalisés par Edward Hopper. L’artiste y explore la relation entre l’homme et la nature. Tandis que les traces de la civilisation moderne marquent de manière croissante les paysages naturels, de nouveaux paysages urbains émergent dans les villes. Parmi les motifs préférés de Hopper figurent des phares, des maisons en bord de mer et des voiliers, tout comme des rues, des stations-service, des granges et des voies ferrées.

Dans l’une des salles de l’exposition sera projeté, court métrage en 3D du célèbre réalisateur et photographe Wim Wenders. Inspirées par l’«âme de l’Amérique» telle que véhiculée par Edward Hopper, ces prises feront l’objet d’une spectaculaire projection 3D.

Organisé par la Fondation Beyeler en coopération avec le Whitney Museum of American Art, New York, dépositaire de la plus importante collection au monde d’œuvres d’Edward Hopper.

Credit: "Cape Cod Morning", 1950, Oil on canvas 86.7 x 102.3 cm, Smithsonian American Art Museum, Gift of the Sara Roby Foundation, © Heirs of Josephine Hopper / 2019, ProLitteris, Zurich Photo: Smithsonian American Art Museum, Gene Young

Lieu

FONDATION BEYELER
Baselstrasse 101
CH-4125 Riehen/Basel